Alert! Geekery ahead.

I am going to publicly fess up to being a geek.  Yep, I am a walking talking stereotype.  That is… apart from having impeccable taste.

Not interested in geeking out with me?  Please ignore this post.  There should be something more interesting further down.

For the past wee while I’ve been using Chromium.  “What’s that?” I hear you ask.  Well it’s the developer version of Chrome – aka the unGoogled one.  There’s a couple of different branches to this particular browser, Google use it for testing new features in their browser, while others use it to produce a secure browse.  I’ve been using Chromium for a while because it lacked all of Google’s branding and also because I thought that the interface was pretty slick.  It IS an extremely agile browser.  Compare it with dross such as IE (and Safari)…  Firefox also seemed to have run off the rails.

The Mozilla browser had become bloated, took ages to load and it was looking quite dated.  Step forward mighty Google… and thus my flirtation with the dark side began again.  You’d think that I would have learned after the debacle of the earlier browser wars, and the software monopoly of Microsoft.  But, Chromium is a great browser it’s just that it’s backers New Satan don’t seem to look like the good geeks they purport to be.  I had an increasingly bad taste in my mougth so I thought I would take a look at the new Firefox (version 4).  It’s really good.  Really nippy and by switching back I can go back to the nice safe unobtrusive browsing I used to have.  And I feel much better for it – like I’ve been to geek gym!  I even managed to hack together a pretty slick interface rejig for it that I thought I would share:

I can’t take credit for this.  It’s actually a slightly tweaked look taken from this guy’s site. I salute you sir!

Leave a Reply

