The Sentimentality of the Cynic

I originally wrote a different version of this post sometime ago.  It’s been sitting on my ToDo list while I fretted over exactly what I think.

I’ve been struggling with the idea of Ebooks.

Quite a few in the publishing world herald the advent of Ebooks (really a very old idea – they’ve been around for yonks) as a new dawn in their relationship with their customers.  I don’t think they, or those commenting favourably on it, truly understand what might be coming.  I am not the only person who has noticed read this.  I don’t normally read the Telegraph but I think that the journalist is bang on the money.

Let me start with music.   I recently saw an exchange on a friends Facebook page.  It went like this:

Her:  I hear album by band X is bad.  It’s just arrived I can’t wait to listen.

Friend: Mug.

Her: Why?

Friend:  You paid for music.

The availability of music, for free, makes it hard to derive any money from the sale of it.  Why pay if you can get it for free?  Unfortunately for the music industry they tried hard to stamp down on piracy.  When they did this they enhanced the idea that they were The Man and therefore Evil.  If they are Evil then why do you want to pay money to them for their product?  Music piracy is now widespread.  There has been some movement to provide music customers with services at a “fair” price but this has come late to the game.  People still think that it’s not worth paying for music, that it somehow does harm to the bands themselves and in any case you’re better off paying to see the bands directly.  So these services struggle to generate any money and, despite how things are going on the net, these services require that you invest in the tech that enables them – even tech support need funds to buy pizza.  I worry about what’s coming for music.  I don’t think this is a debate that’s ended.

How does this relate to the publishing industry?  I think publishers are lucky in that they are not seen as being The Man and therefore Evil.  Their business model is actually quite similar to the music conglomerates (all of them being tied together anyway)  but people seem less bothered by this.   I also think that authors have been better at protecting their rights than many performing artists – the exchange is perhaps not as one  sided as the music industry is (or was).   At least that’s the perception.  It may also be that the creation of the written text and someone’s experience of it is different which is an idea I agree with.

This is one of the reasons that comparisons with the music sector fail.  Reading a book is not a group experience.  You can make it a group experience (film adaptations, spoken word, and book clubs) but the reading experience is very personal; which is why film adaptations often fall short or you have an argument in a book club.  We’ve also largely lost the oral storytelling craft in western society.  Very very few people have the option to earn a living wage telling stories; this contrasts somewhat with musicians who can still earn money getting out there and touring.

Step forward the E-book with its promise of mass market appeal and convenience.  Now we can reach LOTS of people, create our own niches based entirely around authors, writing styles, use of punctuation … whatever you want.  Publishers can cut out the printing and distribution side of things.  Savings for everyone!  Eh, hang on a minute.  There’s much more to producing a book than writing, printing and putting it in a shop.  If you want to see a world without editors, agents and everyone else involved with publishing then I invite you to spend some time on a writing forum or browsing the available titles in a self publishing site.  Do you want to spend your time reading that?  I thought not.

We’ve all seen what happens with music when you produce it digitally.  There’s also this idea that something produced digitally is software.  That’s a concept at odds with how people think

Somewhat ironically 1984 was yanked from the kindle because it shouldn't have been sold in the frist place.

about physical objects.  If I buy a physical book I expect it to be mine.  Contrast this with software, with its long history of piracy and where it’s common for consumers to rent the product.  If this is the case then you agree to the limitations set out in the license, frequently you don’t own anything.  The media conglomerates know that piracy is bad and so they are very interested in DRM.  DRM  is bad.  You are only renting the ones and zeros covered in the agreement.  That agreement is usually also written in incomprehensible legalese.  And there’s always this clause that the license may change at any moment …  you might suddenly find your shiny new Ebook isn’t available – which has already happened by the way (see picture).

Compare this with buying something that actually physically exists.  It’s an entirely different concept.  No, really it is, there’s reasearch out there* that demonstrates that people treat physical objects different from ephemera.  That’s probably because we’re merely grownup monkeys.

If the publishing houses go down this route it will look tiresomely like the hamfistedness of the music industry .  They will create the very pirate market they seek to avoid.  And who wins then?  Certainly the publishing houses won’t, writers won’t (they’re all impoverished artists anyway) and ultimately neither will the customers.  The future will belong to people who do not read

And I would be sad.

It seems to me that the focus needs to be changed to focus on what makes reading unique.  Can Hollywood match the pictures painted by a well crafted word?  Is art as accessible as something created in a shared language?  Can music tell the story of the rise and fall of humanity in the same way a really good book can.  I love the feel of a book.  I like turning pages; that sense of satisfaction when you’ve conquered a really tricky set of ideas.  I love that replete feeling of a job well done – knowing you’ve grown in the process.  I like the smell of the book and I like the look of them on my bookshelves.  I tend to poke around on people’s bookshelves when I visit because you can tell a lot about people from what they read.  It’s always fascinating.  I love the heft of a book in my bag, the way that presence always demands that I sit somewhere quietly turning pages.

To me books are not about words on a page.  They are about the experience.  I’ve read ebooks.  It’s ok.  I can certainly read the words.  It just lacks the overall experience, but I get the fact that it’s a great way of carrying weighty tomes (a job hazard).  It’s been pointed out to me that this is pure sentimentality and that I will get over it.  I really hope not.  I really want to have that experience time after time into my dotage.

I really don’t have all of the answers.  I am very cynical, I’m a geek and I’ve lived through at least two tech bubbles and I have to put up with Web 2.0 BS daily, but I am genuinely worried about the day I see this exchange:

Her:  I got the Iain Banks book today!

Friend:  Mug

Her: Why?

Friend: You paid for a book.

*sigh.  Can’t find it at the moment.  I will keep looking.

Leave a Reply

