And about time too…

Christmas and New Year (Happy New Year and all that) were a busy a time for me and it’s really only now that I feel sufficiently over them to put fingers to keyboard and type.  I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions but slightly before then I thought I might try a little experiment.

Some people may have heard of NaNoWriMo.  This is a month-long writing slog in November.  Take a look at the website there’s tons of information telling you what people get up to.  In essential terms the task is to sit down and write fifty thousand words aka “most of a book”.  Note that these words need not be good words… just words on a page that roughly resembles prose.  If you want you can go back and do the editing later though I note that everyone who does this doesn’t seem to bother.

I found myself thinking, “If November isn’t good for me (it isn’t for various reasons) when is?”  And so I came up with the idea of JaNoWriMo*  FebWri in stead.   During FebWri the goal is to shackle myself to the keyboard and see what comes out at the end.  The writing widow has agreed to take my internet router out of my flat for the month.  I don’t own a telly and supposedly  I will have no excuses about not bothering to do anything.

Come the 28th let’s see what happens.

 

* (Oops – what happened to January?)

3 Comments on “And about time too…”

  1. Deb Wain says:

    Hello writer-person,

    You mentioned NaNoWriMo before but I must have been too busy avoiding all things writing due to the overwhelming guilt I have at not doing any of my own to check out what it is. Have now checked, am now interested. May I join you in your FebWri endeavours? Can we create some kind of support group?

    OK, I’m off to make more coffee & avoid doing anything constructive until 1st of Feb! 🙂
    Cheers,
    Deb

  2. antihippy says:

    Hey Deb,

    Of course we can create a support group! My aim is to draw a line under the issue of avoiding writing and just go do it. I reckon it’s going to be tough sticking to a regime of daily writing (and word targets) so I’ll need all the help I can get.


Leave a Reply

