Science Fiction Now and Tomorrow

The Guardian runs a very good books podcast that I recommend listening to.  They talk about all sort of literature and developments in the field and they’re not afraid to muck around in genre.

This week’s episode is particularly interesting as it features 2 of my favourite authors :  Alistair Reynolds and Jeff Noon.  Yes, that’s right Jeff speaks!  I’m a bit of a fan (as anyone who has read this blog before will know) and his new novel sounds as trippy as you’d expect.  Michael Moorcock also talks about his general disappointment with Science Fiction as it is now.

Check it out here.

Lauren Beukes also features.  Between her, District 9 and the well regarded Pumzi it looks like there’s a real renaissance in African Science Fiction at the moment.  Even Reynolds latest book features a near future Africa.

3 Comments on “Science Fiction Now and Tomorrow”

  1. Thank you for sharing. I’m very excited about hearing that there is another Noon book in the works.

  2. Paul says:

    Thanks for the heads up. I’ve just listened to it and it was quite interesting – especially the Michael Moorcock interview (no surprisies there).

    I have to admit that I haven’t read as much Jeff Noon as I would like, but I am a big fan of Alastair Reynolds.


Leave a Reply

